RSS

On Blessing My Children : A Lesson Learned

20 Jun

Roughly 15 months ago, I was driving from Angola Prison to Baton Rouge, Louisiana. In the car was my friend Jeremy who had spent the weekend working with me at a men’s conference at the prison. On the phone was his eldest son whom he was eager to explain the intent of ministry in a prison, what a prison inmate is, what that means and what God has to say about all of it. To the best I can recall, that broad conversation was saved for another day. But this night had something special in store that has changed my parenting every since.

His boys were heading to bed for the night and each, one at a time, got on the phone and Jer blessed them. In just a few brief moments, he spoke life and truth, God’s Word and His promises, over his boys. They went to bed that night – as with every other night – having been both prayed for and healthfully confronted with God’s powerful truth.

As parents, we all have choices in the words we express to our children. In moments of overwhelming gratitude and grace, we tend to pour our words of affirmation. In times of stress and trial, we often cry out in exasperated tones. Yet through it all, our children must hear of our love for them, our desire for them to grow up in the Lord, and – most of all – our speaking God’s Truth into their lives.

Since that night last March, Robyn or I have spoken the truth of Numbers 6:24-26 to our girls nearly every night. It’s our honest prayer and our sincere hope for their lives.

Last night was a uniquely challenging one for me as I tucked our four year-old into bed, closed my eyes, and laid my hand on her shoulder to speak this blessing to her. Just the day before, I attended my friend Jeremy’s funeral. A life cut, by our standards, tragically short. (More on Jeremy and his life here; and my relationship with him here.) This friend and brother who taught me so much about life taught me this important thing about raising my kids well – and it wasn’t on purpose. We happened to just be in the right place at the right time together.

It makes me sad that he’ll not be able to speak this truth into his boys lives any longer. Yet I also know he was a faithful father who did more for his kids in the short time he had the opportunity to directly influence them with God’s Truth than many fathers do in an entire lifetime. I believe these years of blessing and his godly fathering will result in great fruit for his boys one day. They will be spiritual champions. I’m convinced of it.

One other thing I’m sure of? My kids have better parents because of Jer’s parenting, as well. His impact as a father extended beyond his own kin and onto others, like me, whom he touched. And the legacy is extended.

That prayer of blessing from the book of Numbers is one that I believe God has granted to Jeremy:

The LORD bless you
    and keep you;
the LORD make his face shine on you
    and be gracious to you;
the LORD turn his face toward you
    and give you peace.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on June 20, 2012 in Ideas, Philosophy

 

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a comment